MY RECENT CAMERA FAILS

Today’s header is a recent image of a coyote hot-footing it, nearly to the other side of the neighbor’s 200 acre Alfalfa field.  Sorry it’s out of focus.  How I miss my old Cannon Rebel’s telephoto lens.  You may have heard that sad story.  Two of my grand kids (all grown up now) were playing in a hot spring on the bank of the Salmon River in Idaho.  (Memory fails, also, and I don’t remember which branch of the Salmon.)  For a good camera angle, I waded out into the river.  Well, you know — slippery rock, awkward grandma, gravity.  Camera and I both went under.  The old Rebel tried to run afterward, but all it could do was rewind film.  Maybe it can be repaired, but I went to digital, and have upgraded several times.  Now, after several years I’m still trying to get the hang of my latest, a Panasonic FZ50.

A week or so ago, almost dark dark night, I took Cricket out.  While the little dog sniffed around about thirty feet from me, a Great Horned owl swooped over my head without a sound, right at her.  It really startled me.  Cricket, though, didn’t even bark, just danced around as though playing and went back to her sniffing, and the owl flew up into a tree.  Then it came back, and I went on the offensive, clapping and yelling and dashing toward the (almost) encounter.   Mr. or Mrs. owl apparently decided I was too much older, tougher and bigger than the little Long-haired Chihuahua morsel and veered off into the trees again.

But I learned something.  Before the attack, the owl made little mewing or crying sounds that I’d heard before and assumed were young coyotes yapping.  However,  a couple evenings later, not long after sunset, an owl soared onto some nearby dry Poplar limbs and watched us.  It again made the little cries (far different from their usual h-h-hoot hoot hoot).  I would like to know if it were mimicking a young animal to put its intended prey at ease, or if it were smacking its owl “lips” over anticipated din-din.

So here’s the second owl sighting, and second recent “camera fail” that I’ll admit to.   The image is a bit odd, an “accidental” if you will, but frankly I kinda like it.

great horned owl

great horned owl

;}  Smiles

This entry was posted in Bird, Nature, Nature Photography, Pacific Northwest, Photo Essay, Photography, Smiles Photography, Washington State, western United States, Wild Bird and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

