CHAGRINED

To set the scene, here are a couple of points for those who may not have read my blog posts recently.   First, I am a Christian… a Seventh-Day Adventist Christian.  The “Seventh-Day” part of the denomination’s name refers to the Ten Commandments, specifically, the 4th.   “Adventist”, refers to Christ’s eminent return to claim His believers and to set things right in this old world, and to His commission to Christians to help folks get ready for that great event.  Also, I love the beautiful things that our loving Father God created for us.  And I love to share them by words, photos, garden, and flower arrangements.  So far so good?

Pussy willows Photo by Smiles

Second, a very lively, friendly, nine-pound, long-haired Chihuahua cross lives with me.   Her name is Cricket.

Cricket Photo by Smiles

Cricket Photo by Smiles

Yesterday morning, being Sabbath (Saturday), I loaded into the van a large bouquet of pussy willows for the church.  And, as Cricket hadn’t had a ride for a few days, I let her jump in. 
I had it timed to arrive after the doors opened but before people arrived for the first service.   When I unloaded the pussy willows, Cricket jumped out and took off running and teasing around the parking lot.  I didn’t have time to deal with her right then, and took the arrangement in through the end door of the church and into the sanctuary. 
The pussy willow stems were in a tall narrow vase which I set at the edge of the platform.  Knowing that a bunch of little kids would soon be sitting around it for the Children’s Story, I thought the vase looked way too precarious.  So I went looking for a small stand on which to raise it above the convenient reach of little hands. 
By then the first people were filing in and taking their seats in the pews.  When a helpful deacon and I brought the stand out from a side room, who should greet me, dancing around my feet, but Cricket!  Apparently she had come in the front door of the church and right down an aisle with the worshipers.  
It was nearing time for the service to start, and the pews were filling, so I had to quickly finish, and, again, didn’t have time to deal with Cricket.  Cricket was delighted, running up and down the aisles, greeting people, and exploring the platform lickety split.  Then she’d run back to me and dance around… so everyone could see that I was the chagrined owner.  For my last few minutes there, the grinning deacon carried her in his arms.
Oooooh my!
:} Smiles
4th Commandment
“Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the LORD your God. In it you shall do no work: you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your male servant, nor your female servant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates. For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it.  Exodus 20:8-11   NKJV
This entry was posted in Christianity, Creator God, Dog, Nature, Photo Essay, Photography, Sabbath and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CHAGRINED

  1. Oh my… embarrasing 😛

Leave a Reply

